Day 315 – November 10, 2012

Lack of motivation today led me to a list of ideas for when you’re shooting a 365 project.  One of the ideas was photographing a part of your body you don’t like.  “That’s easy,” I thought.  So I began photographing my least favorite part of my body, my knees, at many different angles.  What I didn’t realize at first, was that no matter which angle I shot my knees at, I was going to hate every photograph because, oh yeah, I hate my knees.  Oops!  Didn’t think that one through.  Anyways, I was able to stand this photo after staring at it for a while.  It became sort of abstract to me.  Am I the only one who hates their knees?  What do you guys think is your least attractive body part?

4 responses to “Day 315 – November 10, 2012

  1. Whats wrong with those knees… they work and you can walk can’t you..??. then there’s nothing wrong with your knees…

    • I can right now. But I’ve had two knee surgeries in the past 4 years – they are already a mess unfortunately. haha But I just don’t like the way they look, they are all bony and scarred.

  2. What do you want your knees to look like? If you think you don’t like them now, wait until you hit about, oh, 45 and they look like they belong to your mother. (No, I’m not kidding).

    You have lovely legs.

    But, to get to the photograph, isn’t it interesting when we start seeing our photographed body as sort of removed from ourselves? I do like this photo. Good composition and lighting.

    • I don’t really have an idea of how I want them to look. All I know if they are bony and scarred and, in my opinion, are the ugliest part of me. I’ve had 2 surgeries in the past 4 years on them. They are already 45 year old knees on the inside unfortunately haha. But thank you for the compliment on the legs and the photograph.

      And that’s exactly how I was feeling about this photo. After I looked at it long enough I kind of forgot it was me. That is very interesting.

Leave a Reply

